Verdict Jury

Jury members: Piotr Wereśniak – chair person, Małgorzata Sobieszczańska, Jowita Budnik, Marzena Trybała and Petro Aleksowski, after having watched films taking part in a feature film (16 films), documentary film (16 films) and amateur film (6 films) contest, unanimously gave the Main Awards – Butterflies 2019 and distinctions:

Butterfly 2019 in an amateur film category has gone to 'Superhero' by Dariusz Janiczak for wonderful characters, witty humour an incredibly light story and a real suspense. Additionally, the jury has appreciated the level of film production and fantastic montage which are not on a lower level than professional films.

A distinction in an amateur film category has gone to 'the Colour of Life' by Michael Njoroge and Grace W. Matu for a film manifesto against the lack of tolerance, cruelty, being different and objectifying people.

Butterfly 2019 in a documentary film category has gone to 'Connected' by Aleksandra Maciejczyk for a beautiful, humorous and emotional story about love which overcomes all barriers. The jury has appreciated an original way of showing characters and a perfect use of film means of expression.

Butterfly 2019 in a feature film category has gone to 'My name is Petya' by Daria Binevskaya for a story about Slavic sensitivity placed in a system absurdity of the East. The jury has appreciated an ability to place a wide repertoire of emotions in a short and consistent film form.

A distinction in a documentary film category has gone to 'Design-Ability' by Otoxo Productions for an optimistically and suggestively told story about differentness which is a great value, about the use of a great creative potential of people with disabilities at a commercial market and art which integrates without any barriers.

A distinction in a documentary film category has gone to 'The Sign of Love' by Elad Cohen and Iris Ben Moshe for a warm and sensitive story about untypical parenthood, the need of acceptance and affiliation told in an incredibly sincere and intimate portrait of the characters.

A distinction in a documentary film category has gone to 'Happy Together' by Yen Kung Kuo for the courage of raising a subject which is difficult but very important and which breaks a social cultural taboo.

A distinction in a documentary film category has gone to 'Shock Waves' by Kineret Hay-Gillor for an astute insight into a problem of post traumatic stress disorder and its influence on whole families and society.

An audience award has gone to 'Knight Stefan' by Agnieszka Kozaczka-Gralak.

A youth jury award has gone to 'Superhero' by Dariusz Janiczak.


We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.