17th European Film Festival
3rd - 7th November 2020.

Change of the performer of the opening concert

Tymon Tymański was born on 30th September 1968 in Gdansk. He started playing the classic guitar at the age of 8. When he was around 12 he changed his music style to rock’n’roll and started his first band The Howling Dogs. In high school he was a leader of Sni Sredstvom Za Uklanianie which transformed into a jazz quintet Miłość in 1988 with Tymon Tymański playing the bass, Leszek Możdżer playing the piano, Mikołaj Trzaska and Maciej Sikała playing the saxophones, Jacek Olter playing the drums. The project occurred to be the most interesting phenomenon of the Polish jazz music of the 90’s. In 2001 the group was named the best group of the decade by the critics of Jazz Forum magazine.

In 1998 the first record - P.O.L.O.V.I.R.U.S. by KURY came out. In 2002 Tymański started Tymon & The Transistors band. The soundtrack to Wojtek Smarzowski’s film “Wesele” was a great success. The tracks were watched on YouTube by a few million people and are considered a cult. In 2007 Tymanski in cooperation with a film producer Maciej Chmiel and writer Jacek Dehnel created a journalist trio of information-culture programme "Łossskot" in TVP 1. In 2014 there was a premiere of “Polskie Gówno” musical - the outcome of Tymon, the Transistors and director Grzegorz Jankowski’s cooperation. In the same year Tymanski presented his own versions of The Beatles, Elvis Presley and David Bowie’s compositions on “Rock’n’roll” record. Among the guests who appeared on the record are Wojciech Waglewski, Katarzyna Nosowska and Natalia Przybysz.

In Autumn 2016 Tymon Tymanski created One Man Show – a solo concert project presenting a number of his artistic achievements. In his compositions there may be found far influences of Jeremi Przybora, Wojciech Młynarski, Frank Zappa.

In February 2017 there was a premiere of the seventh album of Tymon & The Transistors "Zatrzymaj Wojnę!". The record consists of 10 compositions with anti-war problematicity written and composed by Polish and Russian artists. There are moving songs by e.g. Bułat Okudżawa, Włodzimierz Wysocki, Akwarium and Aukcjon, Republika, Siekiery and Brygada Kryzys whose sources of inspiration come from synth pop, cyber punk, jazz and rumba. On the album we can also listen to such guests as Natalia Pikuła (Drekoty, Nowe Sytuacje), Daniel Hertzov, Olaf Deriglasoff and Roman Puchowsk (Von Zeit).